Head of State Summary of the Reform of Equatorial Guinea's Constitution Last February 16, the President of the Republic signed and officially promulgated the Fundamental Law Reform, adopted on November 13, 2011. In its preamble, the law states that the basis for the organization of the society of Equatorial Guinea is the charismatic authority of the traditional family, and rests on the principles of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the African Charter of Human and Peoples' Rights. Today we review the main points of this law after its amendment, and attach the full text thereof.


In its initial articles, the Fundamental Law states that Equatorial Guinea is a sovereign, independent, republican, social and democratic State, where the highest values ​​are unity, peace, justice, freedom and equality. Sovereignty belongs to the people, who exercise it through universal suffrage.

Political pluralism is recognized, culture (education is a primary duty of the State), artistic creation, scientific research and technology are encouraged and promoted, and the conservation of nature is watched over. Similarly, it recognizes the right to strike, and women, regardless of their marital status, have equal rights and opportunities as men in all spheres of life.

The State exercises its sovereignty through the Executive branch, the Legislative branch and the Judiciary branch, and performs its functions through the President of the Republic, Vice President, the Council of Ministers, the House of Representatives, the Senate, the Judiciary Constitutional Court, the High Judicial Council, the Council of the Republic, the National Council for Economic and Social Development, the Court of Auditors, the Ombudsman and other bodies under the Fundamental Law and other laws.

New supervisory and disciplinary units of conduct

The President of the Republic is elected for a period of seven years and may be reelected. His mandate he is limited to two consecutive stages, and is not allowed to run for a third term until an alternation has occurred.

The power to legislative branch belongs to the people, who delegate in Parliament through universal suffrage within the framework of the powers stated in this Fundamental Law. The Parliament consists of two chambers: the House of People's Representatives and the Senate.

It also creates new supervisory bodies, such as the Council of the Republic, the National Council for Economic and Social Development, the Court of Auditors and the Ombudsman.

The Council of the Republic is an advisory body of a political nature, in charge of advising the State powers and the President of the Republic on management during his tenure.

The National Council for Economic and Social Development is an technical-advisory body on economic and social plans and programs. It consists of 30 members appointed by the President of the Republic for a period of five years.

Fiscal control of public service will be exercised by the Court of Auditors to ensure the transparency of fiscal management in the Administration and private individuals or entities that manage funds or assets of the nation.

Finally, the figure of the Ombudsman is elected by the House of Representatives and the Senate, and ratified by the President of the Republic for a period of five years. His function is to defend the rights of citizens under this Constitution.

Equatorial Guinea’s Press and Information Office.